Five bento lunches

(Nederlandstalige versie)

Bento box
It’s day 19 of VeganMoFo! Today’s topic is “lunch on the go”. I have this adorable bento box with rabbits on it that I love, but I don’t eat from it very often, so I went through some old bento photos in an attempt to motivate myself to use it more. They’re over a year old, but I’ve never posted them on here, so I hope you still like them!

Bento: orange and rocket salad, stuffed potatoes
On the left: orange and rocket salad with poppy seed dressing.
On the right: small twice-baked potatoes stuffed with peas, leeks, and Proviand bacon cubes; carrot sticks.

Bento: pizza leftovers and roasted chickpeas
On the left: cucumber, radishes, carrot.
On the right: pizza leftovers (vegetables, tomatoes, rocket, tofu ricotta) and roasted chickpeas.

Bento: pancakes, vegetables and fruit
On the left: cucumber; cinnamon apple pancakes; chickpea flour pancakes with tofu ricotta, sweet potato, and parsley pesto; seitan nuggets; radishes; tofu ricotta in a cucumber cup; tiny carrot sticks; courgette; yellow pepper; tomato.
On the right: some kind of curry that I don’t really remember the ingredients of; apple pieces with cinnamon.

(If you’re wondering why this lunch seems more elaborate than the others, I was participating in the Dutch ritual of gourmetten, so when I’d eaten enough I just kept making little dishes to add to my bento.) :)

Bento: orange quinoa salad + veggies & dip
On the left: tofu and parsley dip with cucumber, radishes, and yellow peppers; seitan bits to add to the salad on the right.
On the right: quinoa salad with rocket, fennel, orange segments, and pomegranate seeds.

Bento: salad and samosas
On the left: dill hummus with purple carrots; lentil samosas with pineapple chutney.
On the right: fennel, carrot, and chickpea salad.

Just a note in case you’re curious: I actually ate all of these at home, so I didn’t really worry about the calorie content or how filling these meals would be. They were just a fun way to get a few extra vegetables into my day.

Links of the day

More lunches on the go! I wish I could try this vegan ploughman’s lunch with Tyne Chease nut cheese by Joey from Flicking the Vs. These two lunches on Instagram come with beautiful views: piri piri falafel and hummus by Amy and spring rolls and sushi by Pepa Jobo.

15 thoughts on “Five bento lunches

  1. Wow, those are good-looking bentos! (I wish I could see the outside with the rabbits on!) I love purple carrots – I don’t know if they taste any different, but it does feel a bit like eating space food when you have purple stuff on your plate! The pancake bento in particular looks amazing – I’d almost be happy to go to work if lunchtime meant I got one of those!

  2. I don’t have a Bento lunch box, So a little envious, but I do have other lunch boxes tiffin style that I should really use a lot more than I do. Love all your lunches – so colourful, so healthy, so yummy – I’d be a happy person to open my lunch box to that. I too wish I could see the outside and the bunnies.

    • Aww, thanks Shaheen! I’ve always thought those tiffin boxes look really nice as well, but I don’t have one myself. I’ve added a picture of the outside of the box! (They bunnies are tiny, but still cute).

    • You’re all so nice! :) To be fair most foods will look good when you put them in cute boxes like these, but thanks for your comment. <3

  3. Awww, those lunch inspirations are so cute! I loooove bento boxes and wanted to buy one years ago and never did it. waaah. I have to look for a cute one right now :D (the bunnies on yours are so cute!)

    • Glad you liked them! :D I get so excited looking at bento stuff online, too. I ended up buying my box off ebay. I love that it takes up so little space in my bag while still holding a relatively decent/varied meal (especially if I bring snacks on the side).

Leave a reply below. You don't have to enter your real name or email, but your IP address is stored automatically. Thanks for visiting my blog! :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.