VeganMoFo 12: Wheaty Vegan Gyros

Today’s food has been rather boring (apart from muffins and other brunch leftovers, but I already posted about those), so here’s another food review!

I found this at De Brandnetel (health food store in Leiden):

Wheaty - vegan gyros

Then something happened which often happens to me when I see a new vegan mock meat product: I think, “ooh, vegan gyros! I have to try this! it will be so delicious, how exciting etc,” so I happily buy the product. But when I get home, I realise that I never actually had this dish before I went vegan and I have no idea what to do with it. How does one actually eat gyros?

Luckily, I found a Wikipedia article that told me gyros is traditionally served in a pita with tzatziki, tomato, and onion. So that’s what I did:

Wheaty - vegan gyros

A pita filled with sautéed pieces of the Wheaty gyros, sliced onion, sliced tomato (not visible in the picture, I guess), and the cashew-cucumber dip from Veganomicon. I’ve also never tried tzatziki, so I can’t say how similar the dip from V’con is. However, it worked perfectly well in this sandwich, so I’m sure it’s delicious in other dishes as well!

As for the gyros itself, I was very impressed with the texture! I have a feeling seitan is often either too gummy or too stretchy, but these pieces were just perfectly chewy and full of flavour, as well. It was certainly much better than any commercial seitan I’ve had up until now! My only problem with the gyros was that because of the different sizes of the pieces, all the small bits started burning before the big pieces were done. When you keep that in mind, though, it’s not a problem at all and the different textures make the gyros all the more interesting.

If I remember correctly, the back of the package says it serves 1-2 people, but I think that could be more depending on how much you use – we filled two pitas like the one in the picture, and still had loads left. The package also suggests serving the gyros with rice and vegetables, so I’d like to try that sometime too.

I’ll probably buy this again if I see it! Has anyone else tried this or another Wheaty product? I’d love to hear your opinions.

7 thoughts on “VeganMoFo 12: Wheaty Vegan Gyros

  1. All the wheaty products I’ve tried so far were great. I really like how you tried to prepare this in a traditional way. It looks delicous.

  2. I love my Asian mock duck- it´s fried and marinated in soy sauce and sesame oil. It´s sooo good- the texture is just perfectly tender! Your gyros looks absolutely fantastic and actually so authentic, it´s scary *lol*!

  3. Pingback: Vegan Mofo International Edition « Vegan MoFo Headquarters International

  4. I haven’t seen the Jaipur yet, but that’s good to know. I’ll look for other Wheaty products when I’m at the store again. Thanks for your comment!

Leave a reply below. You don't have to enter your real name or email, but your IP address is stored automatically. Thanks for visiting my blog! :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.