VeganMoFo 13: East Coast Coffee Cake

Speculaas East Coast Coffee Cake

The above is a variation on the East Coast Coffee Cake from Vegan Brunch. If you own the book and have made the recipe, you’ll how good it is. After trying a few variations from the book, I wanted to try and make a speculaas-flavoured coffee cake. Here’s what I did:

I omitted the spices in the topping and used about a tablespoon of speculaas spices instead. I also added some chunks of almond paste to the cake batter and a layer of sliced apples between the cake and the topping. Lastly, I sprinkled the topping with a handful of sliced almonds.

I also made a couple of other changes to the batter itself (mostly due to lack of ingredients and laziness when it comes to grocery shopping), but I’m going to stick to the basic cake recipe again next time, because that was much better. The topping on this cake, however, is delicious! The spices in the original recipe are already pretty similar to speculaas, but the extra flavours worked really well in this variation. I also really like the crunchy almonds on top.

As much as I like this speculaas cake, I think the blueberry coffee cake from the book is still my favourite:

East Coast Coffee Cake with Blueberries

It’s perfect. It’s really just the basic recipe with blueberries added to the batter, but I love the simplicity because you can really taste the lovely berries and the delicious topping. It’s so good, I would serve this to anyone. Or eat it all by myself.

I also tried this variation:

East Coast Coffee Cake - Chocolate Raspberry

Chocolate and raspberry. While I love the two of these together, I can’t say I’m too crazy about them in combination with the cinnamon and nutmeg in the topping. I think I would have liked the cake with just the raspberries, but I would leave the chocolate out next time. It’s just a personal preference, I guess – I don’t like the combination of speculaas and chocolate, either!

Now I don’t mean to say that I didn’t like this cake at all (it was still good!) – it’s just not my favourite. I love the basic coffee cake recipe, though, and I want to try all the other variations listed in the book! If anyone has one they’d like to recommend, I’d love to hear about it…

4 thoughts on “VeganMoFo 13: East Coast Coffee Cake

Leave a reply

