VeganMoFo 4: Brunch on Sunday I

I’ve decided that I’m going to make brunch every Sunday for VeganMoFo (and possibly after that), as Sundays are always pleasantly lazy days that are perfect for a morning of cooking followed by a nice meal with family. I woke up a little late today, so I was afraid I wouldn’t be able to cook enough for a proper brunch. Everything went more smoothly than I had expected, though, so I ended up with plenty of delicious brunch food!

Most of these recipes are from my newest cookbook, Vegan Brunch by Isa Chandra Moskowitz. I never used to make brunch all that often, so I feared I might not use the book very often. I was wrong. This is turning into my new favourite cookbook! I guess I just didn’t realise how versatile brunch really is. There are so many different recipes in the book, there’s something you can use for every type of meal. I’ve also started having more elaborate brunches since I got it, so it’s definitely not sitting on by cookbook shelf unused!

Now, on to the pictures.

Chocolate Beer Waffles

We started our meal with these waffles. They’re the Chocolate Beer Waffles from Vegan Brunch and they are so decadent and delicious. I wanted to make the chocolate drizzle Isa suggests in the description of the recipe, but I didn’t have enough non-dairy milk so I ended up mixing some melted chocolate with a little maple syrup and fruit juice for an extra rich chocolate sauce. We had some raspberries that were about to go bad and they went great with these waffles!

Tofu scramble

After that, I made tofu scramble! I had a little bit of tofu left in the fridge and it needed to be used, so I made a small batch of the Basic Tofu Scramble from Vegan Brunch. I downsized the recipe and didn’t really measure the spices, so the quantities probably aren’t exactly right, but it was quite tasty. I added a sliced onion and two tomatoes. Mmm. I really love that this scramble has such a soft texture, probably because of the water added to the spice mix. I think the softness makes the dish seem a little more similar to scrambled eggs and since my tofu scramble often tends to burn a little, I really like this technique.

Roasted Potatoes

To go with the scramble, I roasted a few potatoes using the VB recipe. I had made one of the variations before (paprika rosemary), but this basic version was great as well! I never knew how well potatoes go with tofu scramble, but now I try to have them together every time.

Tofu bacon

Next up, tofu bacon. I know, two types of tofu in one meal seems silly, but I really wanted to try the bacon and I had to use up the other piece of tofu somehow, too.

This is the “tempeh bacon revamped” recipe from VB, with smoked tofu instead of tempeh. As I mentioned before, I don’t have any liquid smoke, so I wanted to try and see whether smoked tofu would be a good replacement. Apart from the fact that I may have cooked them a little too long, these were tasty! The recipe takes very little work (you just throw the marinade together and let it sit for an hour), so I’m probably going to make it more often!

Fronch toast

Even though we had more than enough food for one meal already, I also fried up some  fronch toast. I had made a couple pieces of the Fronch Toast from Vegan with a Vengeance on Friday, and I had saved the rest of the mixture in the fridge, so it was ready to use! The leftover batter was enough to coat a couple of slices of stale ciabatta, and served with fresh blueberries and maple syrup, these slices made a lovely addition to the brunch!

I hope I can keep this “brunch on Sunday” thing up for the entire month, because this sure was delicious.

5 thoughts on “VeganMoFo 4: Brunch on Sunday I

Leave a reply below. You don't have to enter your real name or email, but your IP address is stored automatically. Thanks for visiting my blog! :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.