Stuffed grape leaves and roasted chickpeas (A Feast for Crows)

(Nederlandstalige versie)

[W]hen the door finally opened it proved to be only the servants with her midday meal. “When might I see my father?” she asked, but none of them would answer. The [chickpeas] had been roasted with lemon and [spices]. With [them] were grape leaves stuffed with a mélange of raisins, onions, mushrooms, and fiery dragon peppers. “I am not hungry,” Arianne said. … “Take this away and bring me Prince Doran.” But they left the food, and her father did not come. After a while, hunger weakened her resolve, so she sat and ate.

– George R.R. Martin, A Feast for Crows

Roasted chickpeas and stuffed grape leaves

OK, so the original quote didn’t say chickpeas, but it’s the Vegan Month of Food, and I didn’t want to spoil anyone’s appetite. :) I made a few meals inspired by Game of Thrones last year, and I’m glad today’s prompt is giving me an excuse to try more. The main character in this chapter got left out of the TV series completely, so I highly recommend reading the books if you’d like to know more about her and other characters from Dorne (and not just because their food sounds so good).

I’d never stuffed grape leaves before. I looked at a few recipes for a plain rice-stuffed version and adapted them by mixing raisins, onions, mushrooms, chillies, and herbs into the rice. The bottoms got a little crisped and burnt because I didn’t add enough water while steaming (whoops), but thankfully they softened up and were all right after a night in the fridge.

The chickpeas were much easier: I coated them in a mixture of oil, lemon juice, cumin, paprika, syrup, lemon pepper, and salt, and roasted them at 180-200 °C (350-400 °F) until they were nice and crunchy — just keep checking on them and stirring them up so they don’t burn.

Links of the day

– Lacey from Avocados and Ales posted this blue ice cream with galaxy macarons inspired by Guardians of the Galaxy. Look at the colours on those macarons! I couldn’t stop saying “wow!”, “WOOOW” as I was scrolling through her post.
– More blue food: Tracy from Stairway to Vegan made blue leek and potato soup inspired by Bridget Jones’s Diary.
– Mike and Sarra from Fake Meat & True Love recreated Todd Ingram’s chicken parmesan and gelato from Scott Pilgrim vs. the World. You’d better try their versions if you want to hold on to your vegan powers.

16 thoughts on “Stuffed grape leaves and roasted chickpeas (A Feast for Crows)

  1. I haven’t gotten into Game Of Thrones yet…but this looks amazing! I have wanted to make stuffed grape leaves for years now, but have never done it. Did you use fresh grape leaves or packaged?

    • Thank you Kyra! Yes, I used grape leaves that were already brined. I’m not sure if I could get them as soft if I used fresh grape leaves, but maybe I’ll try it sometime. :)

  2. I made stuffed grape leaves for a potluck once with rice and roasted walnuts. I want to pick up some grape leaves and mock up yours :) Do you know there’s a Game of Thrones cookbook? It’s not in the least bit vegan but kinda cool. Thanks for the links to other MoFoers it’s hard to keep up so it’s nice to have other peoples highlights.

    • Aah dankje Daniëlle! Ik heb ook alweer een boel blogs in te halen, maar dat hoort nou eenmaal bij VeganMoFo geloof ik. Lijkt me leuk als jij volgend jaar ook weer meedoet! :D

  3. As a huge Game of Thrones fan – I love this idea! The roasted chickpeas look wonderful and so do the stuffed grape leaves. The last time I’ve roasted chickpeas it got a little bit out of hand – these little things are quite addictive! I love the additional links to other MoFoers contributions…it’s great to see so many creative ideas – yeay :)

    • Thank you Kelly! Making the stuffed grape leaves was easier than I’d thought — they were still tasty even though some of the leaves tore and I managed to almost burn them, so I’d say they’re pretty forgiving. :)

Leave a reply

