Purple olives with flatbread, cheese, and chickpea paste (A Feast for Crows)

(Nederlandstalige versie)

I’ve been reading the Song of Ice and Fire series (the books that inspired Game of Thrones), and I love reading about the regional cuisines of Westeros. Food scenes often makes me want to get into the kitchen to recreate the foods as an extra way to experience the story, so when I found this blog and cookbook packed with ASoIaF-inspired recipes, I really wanted to try and veganise some of them. Some Westerosi meals seem to be close to vegan already (mostly soups, breads, and salads), others would need adapting (maybe a Winterfell meal with lots of root vegetables, gravy, and a seitan roast?), and there are some that even the writers of the GoT cookbook haven’t attempted to make (Joffrey’s wedding pie with a hundred live doves baked in comes to mind).

From what I’ve read so far, it seems that Dornish cuisine would be the easiest to navigate as a vegan. In any case, they grow pomegranates, olives, and citrus fruits, their wines are prized throughout the Seven Kingdoms — and they have chickpeas! I think I could subsist on Dornish meals quite happily.

The scene that inspired the meal in the photo below is also set in Dorne:

A Dornish meal

When the sun set the air grew cool and the children went inside in search of supper, still the prince remained beneath his orange trees, looking out over the still pools and the sea beyond. A serving man brought him a bowl of purple olives, with flatbread, cheese, and chickpea paste.

   – George R.R. Martin, A Feast For Crows

The cheese in this case is the Vegetarian Times almond feta, the chickpea paste is a very basic hummus, and the flatbread is made from flour, salt, yeast, and water rolled out and cooked in a frying pan.

Serve with red wine.

26 thoughts on “Purple olives with flatbread, cheese, and chickpea paste (A Feast for Crows)

  1. I ate a GoT-meal at your table and you didn’t inform me about it? :O I really liked it though. It comes to my mind I haven’t tried the olives. I’m not really into food with things I can’t eat in it (like the stone in the olives), except for fruit obviously. But the cheese was a winner and I’m planning on trying it soon!

    By the way, how did your pineapple turn out? Mine smelled a bit too funky so I had to throw it away :(

    • Oh no, that’s too bad about the pineapple – I thought I’d taken the funkiest-looking one. :( I made the passion fruit smoothie you suggested and it was good. I did have to use it all straight away.
      Ha, sorry, I think I served you my mofo leftovers. :) Glad you liked the cheese!

  2. Wat een mooi rustiek plaatje! Ik krijg meteen zin om ‘s avonds ergens onder een boom zitten en lekkere hapjes te eten. Vooral die amandelkaas ziet er heel lekker uit.

    • Dankje! :) Dat gevoel kreeg ik ook toen ik over deze maaltijd las. Ik wil deze kaas ook nog eens maken en dan langer laten staan zoals jij en Miyoko dat doen, dan wordt-ie nog beter denk ik.

      • Ik heb amandelkaas nog nooit laten fermenteren, maar het zal vast lekker zijn. Je moet dan wel een starter gebruiken zoals sojayoghurt en de azijn/citroensap verminderen of weglaten, want het wordt dan vanzelf zuur door de melkzuurbacteriën

        • Hee, dankje voor je reactie! Ik dacht er ook over om het dan eerst te laten fermenteren en achteraf nog de knoflook en citroen toe te voegen naar smaak zodat de noten eerst hun eigen ding kunnen doen.
          Oh en ik vond ook dit topic op Miyoko’s site:
          http://www.artisanveganlife.com/forums/topic/ricotta-what-makes-it-culture/
          Daar zegt ze dat je niet eens per se een starter nodig hebt als je de kaas maar voor een korte tijd laat staan. Dan zal de smaak wel milder zijn, maar het klinkt wel interessant, want ik heb niet altijd yoghurt in huis.

          • Ja klopt, dat gebeurt met de amandelkaas ook als je het een poosje op kamertemperatuur laat staan, maar zoals Miyoko ook zegt is het voor een langere fermentatie (meer dan een dag) wel handig om een startcultuur te gebruiken, omdat je anders de kans hebt dat foute bacteriën en schimmels de overhand krijgen. Voor een betrouwbare lactofermentatie zonder startcultuur zijn verschillende omstandigheden belangrijk, voornamelijk een lekker natte anaerobe omgeving. Notenkaasjes zijn vaak aan de droge kant.

          • Interessant allemaal! Het leek me wel leuk om het met dit kaasje te proberen omdat het toch een aantal uur moet uitlekken in de koelkast, maar dat zou dan ook buiten de koelkast kunnen. Alleen voegt het dan misschien niet zo heel veel toe voor de smaak, dus met yoghurt lijkt me nog lekkerder. Nouja, ik ben nog niet zo thuis in het fermenteren, maar het lijkt me leuk om meer mee te doen. :)

  3. Just came across your blog from the MoFo feed :) I have really been wanting to read those books and watch Game of Thrones. Everyone keeps telling me it’s SO good!

    Also, that food looks amazing. And thanks for the almond feta link — definitely bookmarking that one.

    • Thanks for your comment!
      I’d say give GoT a try if you get the chance. My boyfriend and I decided to watch the first episode to see what all the fuss was about, not expecting to like it that much, and we were instantly hooked. And the books are nice and long so I’ve been reading those while waiting for the next series. :)
      And I just love the almond feta. It’s so simple but surprisingly delicious and versatile.

  4. Pingback: Dornish chickpea scramble with red chillies | Eating with the Rabbits

    • Dankje! Oh, ja dat was ik eerst wel van plan, maar ik eigenlijk deed ik maar wat. Hier een niet zo nauwkeurige beschrijving:
      Ik doe altijd eerst water in een mengkom (en eventueel een lepeltje gist bij dikkere broodjes, maar da’s niet nodig voor dunne wraps vind ik–dan kan bakpoeder trouwens ook geloof ik), dan roer ik er wat zout (misschien 1/4-1/2 theelepel per kop water?) en volkorenmeel door tot het een dik beslag wordt en dan vul ik het aan met bloem tot ik er een bal van kan vormen. Dan dik of dun uitrollen en bakken in een hete koekenpan (sinds ik een gietijzeren pan heb gebruik ik die altijd). Ik vind het lekker en makkelijk want je hoeft het deeg niet per se te laten rijzen. :)
      Dit is het recept heb ik hiervoor een paar keer gevolgd, voor een beter idee van de verhoudingen: http://justthefood.blogspot.nl/2007/05/lachesis-seitan-flatbread.html
      Nu doe ik het een beetje op gevoel en met minder zout, soms meer volkorenmeel en soms meer bloem, maar de bereidingswijze is hetzelfde. Hopelijk kun je daar iets mee! :)

  5. Pingback: Physalis, almond cheese, mini omelets and romesco spread | Eating with the Rabbits

Leave a reply

