VeganMoFo 2014 and a carrot cake

(Nederlandstalige versie)

VeganMoFo 2014

As you may know, today is the first day of the Vegan Month of Food. Every year, hundreds of bloggers spend a month writing about everything related to vegan cooking and eating; click here or here to read along. Many participants choose a overarching theme for the month and I had a couple of ideas, but in the end I decided to just post about anything I would blog about normally, only more frequently.

These are a few things you can expect to see here this month:

  • Food from stories so far I’ve got two dishes inspired by Game of Thrones / ASoIaF planned for this week and a few from Harry Potter for the next;
  • A weekly cooking diary with photos of my market purchases, hopefully with ideas for cooking with seasonal produce;
  • Updates on the cooking resolutions I posted last year — by now I’ve tried to cook a lot of these foods at least once, but I’ve only blogged about a few of them.

I also want to start adding Dutch translations to my main English posts. A lot of Dutch readers are probably used to blogs being in English, but I got a message requesting this a while ago and I enjoy writing in both languages.  I haven’t found an ideal way to combine multiple languages in one blog using my free WordPress account, so for now I will just create an extra page for each post and add a link in the upper right corner.

Oh, yes, the cake. The beginning of VeganMoFo calls for a celebration (not that I need an excuse to bake a cake) and carrot cake was one of the things on my food resolutions list.

Carrot cake

I more or less followed this recipe from VegWeb with 3 tablespoons of ground flax seeds and 9 tablespoons of water for the egg replacer and cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg for the spices. The topping is an almond cream with lemon juice, powdered sugar and a pinch of salt. It came out a little bit dense (I had to improvise a little in terms of baking equipment, which may have been a contributing factor) but it’s been disappearing pretty quickly over the course of the evening, so I’d say it’s a success.

Good luck to everyone participating in VeganMoFo and happy reading!

14 thoughts on “VeganMoFo 2014 and a carrot cake

    • Haha, that is awesome! The two dishes I’ve made so far aren’t as creative as yours but I’d love to make more. Those roasted grapes, though… Still too soon.

    • I agree, dry cake is a million times worse. I just wanted to mention it since it looks a little undercooked in the photo, but it tastes fine. I think it’s just the moisture from all the carrots. Happy MoFo! :)

    • Ik heb net een stukje op en hij is vandaag nog veel lekkerder! Dus ik zou hem zeker aanraden. Al zijn er nu zóveel lekkere taartrecepten die ik wil proberen (zie o.a. Vegan Pie in the Sky) dat ik ook moeilijk zou kunnen kiezen…

  1. Hmm carrot cake, wel grappig, ik maakte gisteren ook net worteltaart (recept van Oh She Glows – superlekker) :-)
    Wel leuk dat je nu in het NL en Engels post, niet dat ik geen Engels begrijp, maar meer Nederlandstalige vegan blogs zijn altijd welkom. Ik blogde vroeger gewoon op 2 blogs, zelfde inhoud, andere taal…
    Veel plezier deze maand, ik kijk al uit naar de Harry Potter inspired dishes ;-)

  2. Dit was mijn eerste echte carrot cake maar ik ben fan! :) Is dat OSG-recept uit haar kookboek?

    Ja, twee afzonderlijke blogs maken heeft ook veel voordelen volgens mij (dan kun je voor elk apart de taal instellen bij WordPress en kunnen lezers kiezen voor welke feed ze zich inschrijven), maar aan de andere kant vind ik het wel leuk dat nu Nederlandse en internationale lezers op dezelfde post reageren en om alles op één site te hebben. Er zijn ook wel speciale plugins voor WordPress.org volgens mij maar voorlopig vind ik dit wel prima. :)

    Jij ook veel plezier met MoFo!

  3. So glad to see you back! My daughter has been talking about carrot cake for a week now. This is a sign:) I’ll better go bake something.

  4. Pingback: Cooking resolutions update, part 2 | Eating with the Rabbits

Leave a reply

