Homemade vegetable stock

Homemade stock
Here’s a pretty easy budget tip I never put into practice until last week: make your own vegetable stock! I used the broth bag method from the PPK 100 list, which means I just collected all my vegetable scraps and kept them in the freezer until the bag was full and I needed to make room for beans and seitan, then boiled them for a few hours until I was left with a pot of beautiful fresh stock. I mostly used bits of onion, carrot, leek, and a few parsley stems, but I think I’ll add different vegetables and more herbs if I have them next time. I know that stock cubes aren’t very expensive to begin with so this isn’t a huge money saver, but it’s made from things you would otherwise throw away so it’s almost free food!

2 thoughts on “Homemade vegetable stock

  1. Pingback: Spring & 50 new foods | Eating with the Rabbits

  2. Pingback: Cooking resolutions update, part 1 | Eating with the Rabbits

Leave a reply

