Speculoos Spread Cookies and Chocolate Syrup from Have Cake, Will Travel

When I started looking for vegan recipes online years ago, Celine’s Have Cake, Will Travel was one of the first food blogs I found and it remains one of my absolute favourites. Some of the first vegan recipes I ever made were from her website (mostly breads and baked goods) and they really helped me fall in love with cooking and baking. My favourite is probably her recipe for French vanilla cupcakes (which I can’t find on the blog right now, but is similar to this equally lovely lemon cake), which is the best cake recipe I’ve tried. Celine has also written a number of excellent cookbooks, but since I’m focusing on blogs this month, I picked two new recipes to try from her site!
Speculoos Spread CookiesFirst up is this recipe for Speculoos Spread Cookies because I couldn’t resist the idea of taking a spread made with biscuits and then turning it back into a cookie again. I had to scale the recipe down considerably as my jar of Speculoos was nearly empty (how did all of that disappear so quickly?), so I got two good-sized cookies out of it. This amount was actually perfect as my small oven can’t hold that many cookies anyway, I got to use my new mini baking sheet, and my boyfriend and I each got to have one of them to dip into our hot chocolate, which we made using Celine’s chocolate syrup:
Chocolate SyrupThis recipe is quite simple but it’s great to have on hand. My boyfriend really appreciated the chocolate soy milk, and I’m looking forward to trying the syrup on fruits and desserts as well!

I hope everyone’s enjoying MoFo so far! I haven’t had much time to read posts yet so I can’t wait to catch up.

8 thoughts on “Speculoos Spread Cookies and Chocolate Syrup from Have Cake, Will Travel

  1. They-look-de-li-ci-ous!!! Shame you didn’t make THREE of them… ;) I haven’t tried speculoos spread yet btw, maybe I should someday. :) And I’m most definitely going to try that syrup recipe -YUM!

    Glad to see you’re blogging again! :D

  2. Hi, I love this, “Eating with the Rabbits”. I’m just learning about vegan recipes and the
    importants of this kind of diet. Will follow you and others to learn more about it, thanks.

Leave a reply

