… twelve jammie dodgers, and a fez

The new series of Doctor Who starts in an hour!

Bow-tiesTo celebrate, we’re having bow-tie pasta …

Jammie dodgers… jammie dodgers …

Fez?… and a FEZ.

OK, so the fez was a bit of a failure. I tried making a dark red icing by adding cocoa powder and beet juice to a plain cooked buttercream frosting, but the beet juice didn’t really seem to affect the colour at all. I kept adding more and more until the icing started to taste vaguely like vegetables, at which point I gave up and just went with the cocoa-tinted frosting. I feel like this cake really needed the red hue to bear any resemblance to an actual fez, but beet-flavoured icing probably wouldn’t have gone over very well so I’ll have to find a more effective food dye!

I thought about making these dalek cupcakes, but I didn’t know where to find the appropriate sweets and given my cake decorating skills demonstrated above they would probably have turned out looking like miniature scrap heaps instead of evil alien killing machines, so I’m kind of glad I didn’t attempt that. They look amazing though. Maybe next time.

Anyway – can’t wait for tonight’s episode! Who else is watching?

11 thoughts on “… twelve jammie dodgers, and a fez

  1. love your doctor who themed meal, especially the fez cake! usually when i want a red or pink colour i smush fruit into the frosting, or i do royal icing and paint beetroot juice on with a brush or cover with red petals to get the effect – though i fear trying to cover a fez with rose petals might result in something that wouldn’t look out of place in Umbridge’s office…

    • Ha, that might be a good idea for a Potter-themed meal though! Thanks for the ideas. I would’ve liked to try and add some red fruit but sadly I didn’t have any on hand. Thanks for leaving a comment, by the way – I just started reading your blog and I love what you’ve posted so far!

Leave a reply

