Sourdough waffles from BitterSweet

P1100616 - crop

Waffles are a pretty wonderful breakfast food. They’re versatile so they can be made as healthy or as decadent as you like, they freeze well, they even make great portable snacks. For some reason, though, my waffle iron had been sitting in a box unused for a while now. I really want to start using it more often, so when I was looking for new ways to use my sourdough starter and came across this this waffle recipe by Hannah Kaminsky, I couldn’t wait to give it a try. Like most sourdough recipes, these waffles require a little planning as you need to make part of the batter ahead of time, but this only means there will be less work to do in the morning so you’ll be tucking into a stack of waffles in no time. I used my grandmother’s waffle iron and got eight big crispy waffles out of the batter, which was plenty for the two of us. These would have been amazing with maple syrup and fresh berries, but we had neither, so we spread them with strawberry rhubarb jam – perfect!

7 thoughts on “Sourdough waffles from BitterSweet

  1. Oh man, I’m so happy you went all the way back to the beginning of time (er, my blog) and found this recipe! I actually forgot all about it, to be honest. Now you’re inspiring me to give sourdough another try, too! It really was such a delicious experiment…

  2. Just the title made me drool. Love the name of your blog by the way, although I do get a little tired of the “rabbit food” joke from omnivores, it’s made me like rabbits a whole lot more.

Leave a reply

