Satay with Unfried Fried Rice and Peanut Sauce

I had tasted some of De Vegetarische Slager (the vegetarian butcher)’s products before, and when I found out that they now sell plain, non-marinated chicken pieces, I really wanted to give them a try. So when I visited my parents this weekend I decided to bring them a box of the vegan chicken and turn it into a peanut satay:

Rice & Peanut SatayI started in the morning by marinating the pieces in some soy sauce, rice vinegar, sambal, garlic, and ginger. Then at dinner time, I sautéed them and served them over the Unfried Fried Rice from Appetite for Reduction (with added carrots, peas, and yellow bell pepper) with the delicious peanut sauce from Vegan with a Vengeance. The vegetarian butcher’s products are really very meat-like, and while that’s not necessarily something I look for in my food, they are quite tasty and I’m glad to see that some non-vegan family members consider these to be decent meat substitutes. It also looks like many of their faux meats don’t contain any gluten, so they could be a great option for vegetarians with allergies as well. I really hope to see these products in the supermarkets some day!

Now I think I’d better go to bed because I’m tired and it’s taking me forever to form sentences (: I’ll be back tomorrow, hopefully with veggie burgers!

18 thoughts on “Satay with Unfried Fried Rice and Peanut Sauce

    • Only in the Netherlands for now, I think! they have a shop in the city where I live, but their products are quickly becoming more available throughout rest of the country as well. I don’t know, but it’d be great if they eventually became available in other countries too!

    • Oh I hope you get the chance to visit there sometime! They also sell sandwiches at the shop (like satay with peanut sauce or teriyaki) so it’s a nice place to have a quick lunch :)

    • Thank you! the marinade was actually based on something I’d made from 500 Vegan Recipes, but I didn’t have the book with me so I just threw some ingredients together. Next time I think I’d use more marinade or add some water, but otherwise it turned out well!

Leave a reply

