Salad & Pizza in the Garden

I think I already mentioned on here that we had a pretty crappy summer with loads of rain and not nearly enough sunshine. Needless to say, it was a welcome surprise that the first days of autumn actually turned out to be very pleasant; yesterday my boyfriend and I even spent the afternoon at the beach (No swimming, though; too many jellyfish :( I did bring a cookbook to do some MoFo planning and it turns out my boyfriend would like me to try out all pancake and waffle recipes from 500 Vegan Recipes this month. Not a bad idea…) Today was equally gorgeous, so my parents and I decided to have dinner outside in the garden. I made the pizza dough from Nonna’s Italian Kitchen and the tofu ricotta from Veganomicon, so all we needed were a few fresh veggies to make a yummy summery meal.

Pizza!
My pizza had fresh tomato slices, tofu ricotta, sautéed oyster mushrooms, marinated artichokes (I found these at Xenos and they’re so much better than the canned artichoke hearts I usually get!), sliced red onion and arugula. I know I’ve said it before, but this pizza dough is the best! It’s easy to work with and makes for a delicious chewy/crispy crust. I haven’t always had good results with whole wheat pizza crusts, but I always use a cup of whole wheat flour in this recipe and it works beautifully! I actually prefer the crunchy texture it give the crust. Now all we need is a pizza stone and I’ll never want restaurant pizzas again!

Salad!
We’d made salads while waiting for the pizzas to arrive, and they were almost as delicious as the pizzas themselves. My plate had mixed lettuce, fresh tomato, red onion, tofu ricotta, some of those delicious artichoke hearts, and the Classic French Vinaigrette from the Mediterranean Vegan Kitchen. The dressing was quick to whip up and made a tasty addition to our salads. We also drizzled a little onto our pizzas.

I hope to  be back with more summery eats tomorrow. Got to enjoy those sunny days while they last!

14 thoughts on “Salad & Pizza in the Garden

  1. That looks like pizza perfection! I love to drizzle vinaigrette on pizza too, and with roquette…it’s all making me hungry! I’ll have to try the pizza dough recipe and the vinaigrette…I have both those cookbooks and should crack them open more often.

    Looking forward to your MoFo posts!

    • Thanks!! the ricotta is pretty amazing isn’t it? I’ve gotten so used to making the cashew ricotta I’d almost forgotten about the simple tofu version, but it’s so delicious and versatile.

    • I think it would be good even paired with Cheezly! A while ago I happened to have tofu ricotta and cheezy sauce around, so I put both of them on a pizza and it was glorious!

  2. oh my god it looks SO GOOD. I guess I should stop surfing mofo posts and make dinner, because I am about to drool all over my keyboard! they both look positively perfect. Mmmm!

Leave a reply

