VeganMoFo 2011 is here!

It’s that time of the year again! VeganMoFo seems to be the only thing that can motivate me enough to actually post on my food blog regularly, so I’m totally ready for October to begin!

Well, kind of ready. I slapped a new layout onto my blog and took pictures of tonight’s dinner, but apart from that I haven’t really planned out my posts for the month yet. So I suppose I’m not that ready at all, but we’ll see where this goes! While I don’t have a specific theme, I’m planning on cooking and photographing as much food as possible and I hope I’ll make at least 20 or so posts! I do have a few MoFo resolutions:

Forty Clove Chickpeas and Broccoli

  • Find new budget-friendly meals to cook for me and my boyfriend. While we love eating together, I sometimes find my boyfriend and I have pretty different tastes. I love veggies and beans much more than he does (for example, the Forty Clove Chickpeas and Broccoli from Appetite for Reduction pictured above would probably be a bit too veggie-centred for him, while I could happily live on meals like that). This isn’t really a problem, but I’d still love to find more dishes we can enjoy together! Oh, and they can’t have too many expensive ingredients (like store-bought faux meats) because we’re students and our food budget is limited.
  • In the same vein: try to make everything from scratch. I’m always tempted to buy loads of fancy vegan products and review them using MoFo as an excuse, but that can be really expensive! And besides, I’d much rather learn to make those foods myself. I already know I’m going to make a few exceptions to this rule, and that’s okay, of course. In any case, I’m planning on making lots of homemade breads and veggie burgers!
  • Cook from my cookbooks! I always say this, but it’s true: I have a shelf full of awesome cookbooks and I should use them more often! It would be nice if I could cook from all my vegan cookbooks at least once this month (I don’t have that many books, so this isn’t as big a challenge as you might think).

My favourite part of MoFo is watching my feed reader explode with hundreds of posts ever day, so I can’t wait for this month to begin. Actually, it’s already been October for 53 minutes where I live, so I guess I’d better get started on that first post!

4 thoughts on “VeganMoFo 2011 is here!

  1. Happy MoFo to you too!! thank you and yes, I need attainable MoFo goals right now :) maybe one day I’ll pick an awesome theme but for now I’ll be happy just posting as often as possible!

  2. I understand the whole boyfriend thing! My husband is an omni who eats my vegan food happily, but if it gets a little too wholesome then he just sort of brushes it aside. I haven’t made the 40 clove but I’m sure he wouldn’t eat it.

    • Haha, I think my boyfriend is the same. He’ll only eat his veggies if they’re mixed into a sauce or mashed into potatoes. I think I’ll just make him lots of baked goods this MoFo :)

Leave a reply

