Stew with Dumplings

Oh, hi there, poor, lonely food blog. I didn’t mean to abandon you during the last days of MoFo! :(

I haven’t been cooking much lately, partly due to homework and other things, but also because that toothache I mentioned earlier keeps coming back and apart from being annoying and painful it also makes me lose interest in food. Ugh. I have another appointment at the dentist at the end of this month, though, so hopefully my teeth will finally be back to normal after that!

For now, the cold cold weather has made me appreciate soups and stews even more than usual. I really wanted some comfort food yesterday and turned to a delicious recipe I’d only made once before, the Vegetable Stew with Herbed Dumplings from Don’t Eat Off the Sidewalk! (part 2 of the zine). It turned out perfect! I couldn’t really get a picture of it yesterday, so here’s one from last year:

Vegetable Stew with Herbed Dumplings

I added peas that time because the introduction to the recipe mentions them and I had them around, but I agree with the author that this stew is perfectly delicious without them. I can imagine how this recipe would be good with other veggies added, too, but I didn’t have many ingredients on hand so this was perfect for me with just the potatoes, carrots, and onions. Best of all, I still have leftovers so I’ll go reheat those now for another yummy lunch!

8 thoughts on “Stew with Dumplings

    • Thank you Mihl! Sorry about all the tooth-related whining, ha. I have a temporary filling in that tooth right now so everything should be fine for now, but yeah, I can’t wait to get it over with!

Leave a reply

