VeganMoFo 2010!!!

As many of you probably know, today is the first day of VeganMoFo! To celebrate, I made these wonderful Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls from Don’t Eat Off the Sidewalk.

Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls

They don’t taste as pumpkin-y as I’d expected, but they’re very delicious anyway. In fact, I’m pretty sure I could live off these… I think I’ll try to freeze a couple for later before we eat them all!

Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls

Anyway, about this month: I did MoFo last year as well and managed to post almost every day, but I’m not sure whether I’ll be able to do that this year as well. I’ll be away from home for a couple of days throughout the month, possibly without internet, but I’ll try to post as much as I can on the other days! I did make a little list of goals that will hopefully give me ideas to post about:

  • Use my cookbooks more often. I have a collection of excellent vegan cookbooks full of recipes I’m sure I’d love, but I don’t cook from them as often as I’d like to. I just need to do the planning and make sure I have the ingredients I need. Maybe I can do a thing where I only cook things from a single cookbook on a specific day? I did that last year with the Student’s Go Vegan Cookbook and that was fun! Oh, and if I can’t find anything to make from my cookbook, there are also loads of recipes from foodblogs I’ve bookmarked but never tried out…
  • Make more interesting to-go lunches! As I mentioned in my last post, I have to pack a meal several times a week, and when I’m in a hurry those meals tend to get boring and not very healthy. I have been looking at various bento blogs lately, though, and they’ve made me realise that my lunch box could be so much more interesting! I think this could be great if I just take a little more time to prepare those meals.
  • Make brunch. Sure, we eat pancakes or waffles or tofu scramble for breakfast every now and then, but it’s been a while since I made an elaborate brunch with multiple dishes. During MoFo last year I cooked for my family every Sunday morning, and that gave me the opportunity to try out a bunch of awesome recipes from Vegan Brunch, which is one of my favourite cookbooks. I’d like to do something like that again!
  • Make more shopping trips just for the food and post about them. I know there are vegetarian shops not that far away from me that I’d love to visit someday, but I never go out of my way to actually shop there. Or maybe I could visit a Chinese supermarket, for instance, and post about what I find there. We’ll see, but I’d like to do something like this!

That’s I have right now, but maybe I’ll add more ideas when I think of them. In any case, I hope I’ll be able to do at least 20 posts! I should be fine, but even if I fail miserably, I am definitely looking forward to reading what everyone else comes up with. Whooooo, MoFo!

Oh, and happy World Vegan Day!

8 thoughts on “VeganMoFo 2010!!!

Leave a reply

