London: 222 Veggie Vegan

I’d known I wanted to eat at 222 Veggie Vegan for a long time, but when the time came to decide upon a restaurant for our final evening in London, I actually almost forgot about the place. I’m glad I remembered, though, because 222 turned out to be a favourite of ours! I totally want to make it to their all-you-can-eat lunch buffet some day, because that would be a great opportunity to sample more of their delicious meals.

Baked Champignons

It took me a while to decide on a starter, but I finally went for their Baked Champignons – delicious crispy mushrooms served with cocktail sauce and a little salad. These champignons were so flavourful! I’ve made baked mushrooms myself, but they never came out this tasty, so I’m glad I tried this dish. I only kind of wished there was more of it, but I guess that’s a good sign. I really liked the cocktail sauce, too – I don’t think I’d ever tried anything like that.

Soup of the Day

My boyfriend really loves soup, so the Soup of the Day was his choice at this restaurant as well. He got this delicious bowl of cream of tomato soup with organic wholemeal bread, which doesn’t look super pretty in the picture, but it tasted great!

222 Burger

This yummy plate, the 222 Burger, was my boyfriend’s main dish. Even though the picture doesn’t actually show what’s inside the bun (oops), I can tell you it was delicious. It’s different from other burgers in that the filling (if I recall correctly) was more like veggie mince and tomato sauce rather than one burger patty.  As it turns out, that works perfectly – my boyfriend loved it! It came with homemade ketchup, too, so this is one special burger. I only had one bite myself, but I’m glad it was so tasty. Too bad I don’t remember much of what it was like (other than what my boyfriend told me), because I’d like to try and recreate this meal…

Tofu Medallion Piccata with Spaghetti

I had the Tofu Medallion Piccata with Spaghetti, which looked beautiful (I like how they dust the edges of the plates with spices…), although it wasn’t entirely what I’d expected. The menu talks about “marinated tofu slices” served on spaghetti, while my dish only had one slice of tofu with smaller cubes mixed in to the pasta. Anyway – that didn’t stop me from loving this excellent pasta dish. Yum!

Chocolate Cake with Vanilla Ice Cream

After stuffing ourselves with all the delicious food mentioned above, we still got to pick two desserts! I made sure to look for a dish that included ice cream, as 222 offers the Swedish Glace ice cream I loved so much when I had it at Rootmaster. Luckily for me, almost all of their desserts can be served with ice cream, and I decided upon this slice of chocolate cake. I enjoyed my dessert, but to be honest, the cake was my least favourite part. The filling was delicious, as were the ice cream and the fruit, but the cake itself seemed slightly dry and crumbly to me, especially the edges. I don’t regret trying this at all, but I think I’d go for something else next time, such as the dessert my boyfriend chose …

222 Pancake

… which was the 222 Pancake, a wholemeal pancake filled with vanilla ice cream and topped with warm vanilla and chocolate sauce – does it get any better than that? Mmmm. My pictures aren’t as good as the ones on the 222 website, though, so have a look over there as well! You won’t regret it, though it might leave you hungry and craving seitan stroganoff.

222 Veggie Vegan

13 thoughts on “London: 222 Veggie Vegan

  1. I love 222 but I’ve never ordered any of the options you guys chose, I’ll definitely be ordering that pasta dish next time, it looks delicious.

Leave a reply

