Organic treats!

It’s a good thing I happened to read Suzette’s blog this morning, as her post about organic farms reminded me that there was actually an event at a farm in my neighbourhood, too. So, since my mother and I were planning on heading in that direction anyway, we decided to stop by for some vegan cupcakes and other goodies. I had actually been to this farm before, so I was happy to find some of the things I remembered liking then, and I also got the opportunity to try some other products. We only had time to stay for a little while, but look what we got:

Organic goodies

In this picture:

Rosie’s Cupcakes: probably the main reason I really wanted to go – it’s not often I get to try vegan cupcakes that I didn’t bake myself! There were four different kinds today, so we tried them all. You can check out all available flavours on Veggierose’s website, though I’m not sure if those are entirely the same as the ones we got. In any case, they were all delicious. I really liked the combination of dried fruit and flowers in two of the cupcakes (the lavender and rose petal ones). The apple pie cupcake was sugar free, but still as deliciously sweet as the other ones, and I really enjoyed the chocolate cherry cake as well. I think these are definitely healthier than the cupcakes I usually make, and there’s a nice variety of flavours to choose from, so I recommend trying these little cakes out if you get the chance!

Nashi pear juice: I got to try samples of two different juices at the KWAKO Fruitteelt stall, and this pure nashi pear juice was my favourite. I hadn’t heard of this Japanese kind of pear before, but apparently it’s very juicy and refreshing – I’d love to try a whole, fresh one someday.

Montezuma’s Dark Chocolate with Chilli: This little chocolate bar caught my eye because I knew it was one of the foods on the UK Vegan 100 list that I posted about during VeganMoFo last year. I’d been meaning to try the product ever since, so now I finally have the chance! I haven’t actually tasted it yet, though, but it looks promising.

A Lovechock Pure/Nibs bar: Lovechock is raw organic chocolate made in Amsterdam – have a look at their website, if you like. This was my first time trying raw chocolate (guess I can check that off my Vegan 100 list, too!) and since there were free samples of all three flavours, I was able to pick my favourite before buying an entire bar. Lovechock’s flavours are Pure/Nibs, Goji/Orange, and Almond/Fig. I thought they were all tasty, but the first one really had the most dark chocolatey deliciousness, so that one’s my favourite.

And lastly, China White Monkey Tea from Thieme’s Echte Thee: This stall had various types of tea to choose from, which made it difficult for me to pick one, since I like tea, but really don’t know much about it. Luckily, they offered us a delicious sample of their White Monkey tea, and we decided to buy a bag to take home. It’s really mild and lovely – I just had a cup of this tea earlier this evening and it was perfect.

And then, as you can see, we got some organic veggies as well. Oh, and most of these website links I gave are in Dutch (so I’m sorry if you can’t read most of it), and I guess most of the products are only available locally, as well. Still, if you get the opportunity to try any of them, I highly recommend checking them out! Especially the cupcakes :)

2 thoughts on “Organic treats!

Leave a reply

