Cookbooks & Buffets

New cookbooks!

These are the new cookbooks that I received today! They’re Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar by Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero, 500 Vegan Recipes by Celine Steen and Joni Marie Newman (both books that just came out), and My Sweet Vegan by Hannah Kaminsky (which I’d wanted to order for a looong time). I can’t wait to cook from these books, but meanwhile, I’m having loads of fun just reading them. Look at how huge 500 Vegan Recipes is! The other two are packed with delicious looking recipes, too.

On a different subject, I spent pretty much my entire Sunday eating at restaurants, and I found plenty of vegan options! In the morning, we had a lovely family brunch at Van der Valk in Rotterdam. Even though I called ahead to make sure there would be something to eat for vegans, no one at the restaurant seemed to know what I was talking about when I referred to this phone conversation. Still, the people there were very friendly and I was able to put together a decent meal of salads, fresh fruits, stir-fried veggies, and french fries. So the food was pretty good, and it’s always especially fun to have such a big family get together!

For dinner, my boyfriend’s parents took us to Happy Wok, a wok restaurant in a nearby village. They have a buffet where you can choose from a few prepared dishes, but you can also create your own dish by combining different raw vegetables from the buffet and having the cooks prepare the meal for you. I asked one of the staff members about vegan options, and he surprised me by showing me the vegan tomato soup, spring rolls, those triangles with curry filling (what are they called?), battered deep-fried banana, and different stir-fry sauces. I think I’m going to make sure about the sauces next time because he said all of them were vegan except the curry sauce, but they also sell oyster sauce and I don’t think that’s usually vegan. Still, this variety of things to choose from is awesome! I couldn’t get any good pictures, but here’s a little mosaic to give you an idea:

Happy Wok food

The food in the picture includes fresh fruit (and fruit from a can, probably), tomato soup, stir-fried vegetables in sweet and sour sauce, french fries, herbed potatoes, deep-fried snacks, and pears in chocolate sauce. Mmmmmm.

Oh, I also went back to Eazie last week and tried their tomato soup.

Eazie tomato soup

I thought this dish was always vegan, but it turns out they normally put in chicken pieces when you order the tomato soup. Luckily, I discovered this before they prepared it, so I made sure to ask for a vegetarian option. They did put in mung bean sprouts and sliced green onions, both of which were excellent additions. I’m not a big fan of the overwhelming sweetness of most Chinese tomato soups, but the fresh vegetables made the soup taste a lot fresher.

Going back to admiring my new cookbooks now :D

8 thoughts on “Cookbooks & Buffets

  1. Those are three amazing books you have got there! I just got 500 Vegan Recipes and Vegan Cookies too :)

    Hannah’s book has always been one of my favorites!

  2. OMG, I am so exited you’ve got 500 vegan recipes. My tester copy is stillon its way. It looks so huge! There are a lot of kick ass recipes in that book, have fun with it.

  3. Pingback: Lunch at Baklust! and shopping in the Hague « Eating with the Rabbits

Leave a reply

