VeganMoFo 24: Redwood Cheatin’ Ham Style

Redwood Vegan Ham
Ham is another one of those products that I haven’t had in such a long time, that I don’t even know what to do with it when I find a vegan version. Nevertheless, I was happy to find these ham style slices from Redwood in a health food store and I used them in this delicious sandwich:

Sandwich!

It’s a multigrain bread roll with lettuce, tomato, a few slices of the vegan ham and mayonnaise. I think these redwood slices makes a pretty good sandwich filling, but they don’t taste like actual ham to me. I’m not much of an expert when it comes to the taste of meat products, though, so I asked my boyfriend as well. He says this meat alternative doesn’t really resemble ham, but it tastes exactly like what in Dutch is called “boterhamworst” (sandwich… sausage?). In any case, we both liked it. It also freezes well, so if I ever need a sandwich filling like this in the future, I’ll buy it again!

7 thoughts on “VeganMoFo 24: Redwood Cheatin’ Ham Style

  1. I’ve never had a redwood product I didn’t like, either. And I recently found a couple of new products that I hadn’t seen before, so of course I have to try them! I had vegan fish fingers yesterday…

Leave a reply

