VeganMoFo 22: Speculaas Granola

Okay, I don’t have a picture, because it’s late here and the lighting sucks and my camera’s batteries are empty. Instead, I’ll just write about my MoFo experiment of the day, which was speculaas flavoured granola!

Based on the Cinnamon-Maple Granola from the Students Go Vegan Cookbook, it consists of about 1 1/2 – 2 cups of oats, 1/2 cup of sliced almonds, a generous 2 tablespoons of sunflower oil and a generous 3 tablespoons of maple syrup, about 1 tablespoon of speculaas spices, a few drops of vanilla and almond extract and a little salt. The baking sheet I used at first was too small, so I ended up baking it for 30 minutes instead of 20, but it’s perfect!

I’m having a handful of the granola right now with the last bit of vanilla soy ice cream that was left in the tub. Oh, wait. I do have a picture of the ice cream –

Soy ice cream

Here it is. I got both of these at Albert Heijn. I like the fact that they’re available in a regular supermarket in the Netherlands, but I can’t say I really love the flavour of the ice cream. I don’t think it tastes that much like vanilla (or like chocolate). So yeah, it’s a pretty plain dessert on its own, but I do like it when it’s covered in something else, such as chocolate sauce or fruit or … granola!

The granola I made is pretty tasty, too! The speculaas flavour isn’t that strong, but together with the maple syrup and almonds, it’s delicious. I’m thinking of adding some dried fruit (apple?).

That is… all I have for today’s post. Notice how my MoFo entries are becoming shorter and shorter?

2 thoughts on “VeganMoFo 22: Speculaas Granola

Leave a reply

