VeganMoFo 19: Snobby Joes

Inspired by a post Mihl made a short while ago, I decided to try and make my own Snobby Joes today. The recipe is from Veganomicon, and I think it turned out well, only…

Snobby Joes!

I don’t know what is up with my chili powder, but everything I use it in comes out so incredibly spicy! I remember making the chili sin carne al mole from VwaV with the same chili powder, and that was almost too hot to eat. Normally I would attribute my dislike for the dish to the fact that I’m not too fond of very spicy food anyway, but my parents tried it as well, and they could hardly even finish their portions.

So yeah, this sloppy joe recipe recipe is easy, quick, and everything about it seems to be great apart from the insane spiciness. I’m definitely going to try them again and I will make sure to be very careful when adding the chili powder then. Or actually, I think it would be better to look for a different brand of chili powder that isn’t so hot. I’m not sure which one I should buy, though…

I really wanted to try the Snobby Joe anyway, so I decided to eat a couple of bites as quickly as I could (it always takes a while before you can actually taste the chili powder). The first few seconds were absolutely delicious, but then the pepper kicked in and my mouth was on fire. I ended up topping the Joe with avocado, because I heard that fatty foods usually combat hot foods well, and that seemed to work reasonably. Still, I wasn’t able to eat more than half of the above sandwich. At least I tried!

The sauce is in a bowl in the refrigerator right now, but I’d like to try and add some other ingredients later and see if I can still turn it into something tasty. Maybe I can make a batch of delicious spicy lentil patties?

5 thoughts on “VeganMoFo 19: Snobby Joes

  1. It looks so good, I love the colour! I recently bought a jar of sweet paprika, at least it was what the label said and it turned out to be hot paprika. Quite a surprise. Maybe you could make your own chili powder?

  2. I wish I had that ability! I’m trying to learn it by forcing myself to finish my portion of a hot dish now and then.

    I just made the snobby joes into lentil patties, and they’re better now :)

Leave a reply

