VeganMoFo 8: Oatly Cuisine

Oatly vegan cream!

I found this vegan alternative to cream in a health food store in Leiden, and I was excited to try it! I use Alpro soya cuisine every now and then, but it’s definitely good to have some soy-free alternatives.

To try the Oatly, I made a very simple tomato soup. It’s actually based on the tomato sauce from Vegan with a Vengeance – same ingredients, just with a little added vegetable bouillon (and I puréed it). This was tasty! Although I admit I might not have added enough Oatly cream to actually taste it very well in there, it did make the soup extra-creamy and that’s what I was looking for.

Tomato soup

I also tasted a little of the Oatly cuisine on its own before adding it to my soup, and it tasted very much like oats. Of course there’s nothing wrong with oats, but that flavour is something to keep in mind when you’re planning on adding it to a dish. I think it will work best in things that already taste a little nutty?

In my case, because of the oaty taste, I decided to try it in some oatmeal. I’m not sure whether this was a really good idea or a waste of oat cream (because I basically added more oats to my oats), but the Oatly was the only form of non-dairy milk I had around, so I didn’t have much of a choice anyway. Plus, I love oats, so the concentrated oatiness made this into a delicious breakfast for me.

Oatmeal!

Or could it be the fact that that oatmeal with cinnamon and peanut butter is delicious to begin with? This bowl is today’s breakfast and I made it extra tasty by following Katie‘s advice on blending grains. I really wanted to add a banana as well, but we were all out of bananas. Sad. Still, this is deliciously creamy and I’m going to eat now before it gets cold!

Oh, I still have some of the Oatly left, so if anyone has ideas on how I can use the rest… I’d love to know!

3 thoughts on “VeganMoFo 8: Oatly Cuisine

  1. I like the idea of pouring oatly into oatmeal! I have used this but I don’t remember for what. Maybe some cake frosting or cream soup? Btw. they also make oat milk.

Leave a reply

