Pistachio Ice Cream

After almost three weeks of no blog posts, you’d think I have a lot of pictures of food to show by now, but no: I only have one.

Pistachio Ice Cream

But it’s a good one! I made pistachio ice cream today, because it was a kind of ice cream that I had never tried before and I thought it was about time. I started yesterday by looking at recipes online for a bit and found a few vegan recipes that looked pretty good. I think this recipe is most similar to what I ended up doing: I processed a cup of pistachios (rinsed and soaked in hot water – I couldn’t find unsalted untoasted ones, so I figured this was the best way to get rid of the salt…) with about 5 tablespoons of agave, some water and a teaspoon of almond extract. When it had turned into a nice smooth mixture, I added a package of Soyatoo whipping cream and some lemon juice. I chilled it overnight and put in in the ice cream maker today.

I wasn’t sure what to expect, as I hadn’t had this flavour of ice cream before, but I liked it! My Dad said it tasted like other pistachio ice creams he’d had before, too, so it’s safe to say it turned out well. There is room for improvement, though. I think the taste would be better if it was a bit sweeter. This surprises me, as the other recipes I found all used less agave nectar than I did, but I guess I just like my ice cream sweet!

22 thoughts on “Pistachio Ice Cream

  1. I am definitely going to try this one, it sounds great.

    Do you have one of those ice cream scoops with one of those moveable thingies (I have no idea how to call that in Dutch, let alone English…)? I never get those perfect round scoops and it looks so much prettier!

  2. Thanks for the sweet comments! :)

    I always call than an “ijslepel met loslaatmechanisme,” because I think I read that somewhere once, Sanja, but I have no idea what it’s really called… but yeah, I used one of those! I love that thing. I think it might be my favourite kitchen utensil, even though there aren’t really that many ways to use it apart from scooping ice cream.
    It’s actually also pretty useful in baking when you want to get equal portions of batter that drop out of the spoon easily.

  3. The picture is perfect! It looks so delicious and reminds me that it has been too long since I have used my ice cream machine. The last thing I made was the vanilla ice cream from Veganomicon, and I just added a teaspoon of cinnamon for a cinnamon-flavored ice cream. Simple but delicious! I love your ice cream ideas!!!

  4. Looks tasty! I think pistachio was one of the few (three?) flavours the ice cream truck that spent many summers near my secondary school had.

  5. Yum, I love pistachio ice cream! I actually have a recipe for it that will hopefully be in my next book, so if you can wait that long… I hope that maybe you’d enjoy that one, too!

  6. That’s excellent news, Hannah! I’d love to try that recipe when your book comes out – looking forward to it!

    Thanks for the link to the carob ice cream recipe, as well, Deb! That does look very tasty. I heard there is some kind of almond cream available over here, too, so I’m going to look for that…

  7. Wow, this ice cream will be my next project! Great that it worked with salted pistacios, because the unsalted are mega expensive over here.

  8. Hot damn! That’s some tasty looking ice cream… I could use some vegan ice cream, sitting here in insanely humid 30C+ Sydney.

    I’m slightly worried by the amount of cream, though! I would become a balloon.

  9. I am still here! So sorry for disappearing like that – I will be back once my camera starts working properly again and I get my shit together and finally upload some new photos onto Flickr!

  10. I have been vegan for 2 years and I know sometimes I would kill for a rich creamy icecream (I didnt know there was a vegan icecream :-( that is probably why my will broke along the way :-( now after two years of crap diet, I am re-living my vegan journey again with my 21-day vegan challenge, as from what I was told, it takes three weeks to change one´s habits….

    I ll be back for more inspiration :-)

Leave a reply

