I love exams!

Well, not really, but these parties of people who passed their exams are giving me a great opportunity to bake. I’m not sure if cookies or cake really make a proper gift, but people seem to like them so I guess it’s alright.

Lemon Almond Cake

Strawberries are in season and as my parents couldn’t stop buying loads of them, I decided to make my friend the Lemon Almond Cake from Yellow Rose Recipes. It’s topped with sliced strawberries, a lemon glaze and toasted almonds. I used less glaze than this recipe made, because I didn’t want to cover it entirely. I love how this cake tastes, though don’t think it would hurt the recipe to use less sugar. The crunchy almonds on top were great.

Apart from the cake, I made a bunch of cookies. The ones I love the most? These:

Double Chocolate Chip Cookies

They look a bit odd in this picture, but it’s the best one I have: Celine’s Double Chocolate Cookies. As I mentioned in my last post, these are so good. I’ve made them at least five times to give away and I had quite a few myself as well… I also made another batch of her Booze it Up Nut Butter cookies, making sure I added enough fat to the batter this time. I didn’t have cashew/macadamia nut butter and was almost out of peanut butter, so I used part almond butter. They turned out very well this time, I’m glad I tried again! I forgot to take a picture, unfortunately.

I made more cookies, but didn’t take pictures of those, either. They were these Whiskey Cookies. They taste awesome, though the flavours in there remind me more of autumn than of summer so I’m not sure why I’m making this time of year, but anyway – I liked them. I’m just wondering if maybe I did something wrong, as mine seem to have turned out different than Celine’s. She mentions how the cookies are crispy, while mine really are more chewy or cake-like, as someone in the comments there discribed. The dough was also different than the cookie doughs I’m used to, it was much more elastic. Interesting! These cookies were fun to make. And to eat.

So yeah, I’ll make sure to remember to take more pictures next time. Come to think of it, I do have some cupcake pictures to share:

Chocolate Cherry Cupcake

Rosey's Cupcakes

I didn’t make them myself, these are Rosey’s Cupcakes, which I bought at a local organic farm last weekend. I chose the chocolate cupcake in the upper picture and had a piece of every cupcake in the other picture. They were very different from the cupcakes I’m used to (the ones from Vegan Cupcakes Take over the World), more like muffins, in my opinion. I think it was partly because the frosting was much less sweet than most of the VCTotW cupcakes. In any case, I loved that chocolate cherry cupcake and it was pretty awesome being able to buy vegan cupcakes so close to home. And they all look so pretty.

One last awesome thing. One of my friends threw a barbecue beach party yesterday and made sure there was some vegan food for me – including this delicious falafel!

Falafel

21 thoughts on “I love exams!

  1. lovely cupcakes! gimme, gimme?
    I need to try these whiskey cookies again to see what’s going on. intriguing!

  2. fyi: I’m making a batch of the whiskey cookies right now and will let you know what happens. I feel so bad that they didn’t turn out for you!

  3. Celine, you are just too kind! It could just have been a mistake on my part, certainly wouldn’t be the first time I mess up something in a recipe. And they didn’t not turn out, I still enjoy them! :) Still, I’m interested to hear how yours turn out.

  4. ok: they’re out of the oven and totally crispy/chewy the way they should be.
    I also tested another batch by lightly spooning and leveling the flours instead of scooping them up, and ditto, they came out really well, so you might go for the second way of doing it if you decide to try them again.

    I absolutely do NOT think you did anything wrong, I remember I had issues with the oreo cookie cookies sometimes coming out more cake-like and other times completely flat, without even changing any of the ingredients or the MO of preparation. I’ve done some research into this in the past, and unfortunately a lot of it depends on the heat/humidity too, so I think it might be the culprit here.

  5. sorry about the many, many comments, but I forgot to mention: I still edited the recipe so that it goes “spoon flour and level” instead of scooping, since I think you were the second person for whom they weren’t a total win.

  6. No need to apologise about the comments at all! Thank you for the extra info, Celine. Now I’m not entirely sure whether I scooped or spooned – maybe I did something in between? I might try again and make completely sure I use that method, but for now I’ll just enjoy these not-so-crispy-but-still-tasty cookies I have right now. thanks again for explaining!

  7. I love it when friends are considerate like that. ♥

    Those baked goods are making me salivate! That cake looks delightful, and I really hope to come across Rosey’s cupcakes again some time. I’m pretty sure I had one once and enjoyed it.
    Did you get it at that open day thing? I’ve seen posters for it, but I was too busy to check it out for myself.

  8. Those are the falafels from Mazaa, right? Did you put them on the bbq? That sounds like an interesting experiment…

    You cake and cookies look delicious! Is that orange quiche dish from the Hema?

  9. Sanja, I’m not sure what kind of falafel it is. My friend’s Dad owns a restaurant and told me the cook had made some falafel for me and fried it in olive oil, so I figured he made it from scratch. I’m not sure, though! Is Mazaa the kind of falafel you can get at the natural food store? I remember buying some there, but the falafel in this post was much better than that… But no, I didn’t put them on the bbq, though I would be interested in trying that as well!

    I think my Mom got that quiche dish at the supermarket in this village, the CoopCompact, but maybe they sell it at HEMA too?

  10. Update on the falafel: it was storebought, but I don’t know what brand. I should try the Mazaa falafel, then! Only I’m not sure if the Jumbo I go to actually sells falafel, they usually don’t have much premade vegan food like that. Lots and lots of different kinds of vegetables, though!

  11. The picture of your lemon almond cake is gorgeous! You’ve got me thinking I should make it for the fourth of july if I have time, I bet it’d be pretty with blueberries too.

  12. Pingback: Organic treats! « Eating with the Rabbits

Leave a reply

