Birthday cake

I only have less than an hour to make sure I have everything packed for my holiday to Amsterdam this week, but I just wanted to share a picture of the cake I made for my friend’s birthday yesterday:

cake!

It’s kind of a lousy picture and a lousy decorating job in general (didn’t have much time, unfortunately!), but the cake was tasty and it felt nice to finally bake something again! I used the (doubled) chocolate cupcake recipe from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World, made it into two round layers and put those on top of each other with coffee-flavoured buttercream in between and on top. I had expected it to be a bit taller, but I guess I should’ve made more batter in order to have a bigger cake. Anyway, it was very filling this way already, so the thin cake layers were just fine!

So yeah, short post! I just didn’t want to be gone without notice for a week again. I’ll probably be back in six days, so have a nice week!

9 thoughts on “Birthday cake

  1. Um, my birthday is in September. You WILL be making me one of those, right???

    That being said, you are an amazing friend– your friend is so lucky to have you!

    And I love that cookbook! So far, I’ve only converted the vanilla cupcake recipe into cake… but I sooo want to try cookies-n-cream.

    Have fun on your trip!

  2. Um, no, that cake and your decorating job are both FAR from being lousy – it looks AMAZING!!!!! Nice job, Bonnie!!

    Have a wonderful holiday to Amsterdam :0)

  3. Absolutely nothing is lousy in this picture. That’s a fantastic decoration. Have a lot of fun in Amsterdam and eat some Maou falafel for me, please?

  4. Thank you for wishing me a nice trip – it was great! :) thanks for the comments on the cake, as well. I had something more elaborate in mind but didn’t have enough time to do it, that’s why I’m kinda meh about it. But my friend liked it! that’s what’s important.

Leave a reply

