Cinnamon ice cream & some fancy restaurant pictures

Cinnamon ice cream

As the weather continues to be wonderful, I haven’t stopped making ice cream yet! This is more an autumn kind of ice cream than a summer one, but it was still enjoyed by my parents (and me!): cinnamon ice cream. I made it by mixing half a cup of almond butter, a cup of rice milk, about 2 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon, 1/4 cup + 2 Tablespoons (I think?) of agave, half a teaspoon of vanilla extract and half a teaspoon of lemon juice all together in the food processor, blending it up and chilling it for a while before putting it in the ice cream machine. I served it with an appelflap (on the above picture, in the back), because they’re so easy to make.

Then I have a couple of pictures that I took on a recent visit to one of my favourite restaurants, de Kop van ‘t Land in Dordrecht. I chose to have a six-course suprise menu, which resulted in an awesome meal consisting of so many small dishes that I can hardly remember all the things I ate there. I’m glad I took pictures, so I can still share them with you. I’ll just post them all here with quick explanations of the dishes, there are a few more details on the photo pages themselves on Flickr. I’m sorry about the low quality of the pictures, the lighting in a restaurant just isn’t the best to take photos. It is very pleasant when you actually are dining there, though.

De Kop van 't Land, Vegetarian Restaurant in Dordrecht

First course (after eating some bread & olive oil): sweet potato soup.

De Kop van 't Land, Vegetarian Restaurant in Dordrecht

Red beetroot, apple, lentils, fava beans, nicely put together in this pretty little dish.

De Kop van 't Land, Vegetarian Restaurant in Dordrecht

Asparagus (they were so good!) with a crouton.

De Kop van 't Land, Vegetarian Restaurant in Dordrecht

Bits of bell pepper rolled into eggplant and zucchini slices, a dolma. A really good one, too. I’ve had dolmas before and thought they were okay, but I really liked this one. Especially the filling was just so tasty.

De Kop van 't Land, Vegetarian Restaurant in Dordrecht

Mushroom soup with fresh soy beans.

De Kop van 't Land, Vegetarian Restaurant in Dordrecht

Coconut curry with rice, mango and avocado tempura (I’ve had something similar to the tempura at this restaurant before, so delicious).

De Kop van 't Land, Vegetarian Restaurant in Dordrecht

Viola sorbet with poached pear slices.

De Kop van 't Land, Vegetarian Restaurant in Dordrecht

Rhubarb compote, sliced fresh strawberries.

I guess that’s it for now – I’ve been baking some other things, so I’ll make a post again soon!

5 thoughts on “Cinnamon ice cream & some fancy restaurant pictures

  1. Romina, it’s made of sugar. I think they melted it to make it fluid and then dripped it ontp a surface in a pretty way to make it look like this, it is really cool!

    Thanks Liz! I cheated a bit with that (meaning I didn’t scoop it all up in one time but used a second spoon to get more ice cream into the ice cream spoon), but I’m getting better at it!

Leave a reply

