Raspberry Coconut Ice Cream and Cinnamon Swirl Muffins

Raspberry-Coconut Ice Cream

Another kind of ice cream: raspberry/coconut. A very simple recipe once again: I puréed about a cup (I think, I didn’t measure those) of frozen raspberries in a food processor, added 3/4 cup of rice milk, puréed some more, strained the mixture through a sieve to remove the seeds, added half a cup of coconut milk and 1/4 cup + 2 Tablespoons of agave, chilled that for a couple of hours and put it in the ice cream machine.

The result is pretty good. I’m not sure if I really like the taste of coconut milk in ice cream. It doesn’t have a strong flavour in here, but you can tell that it’s there. My parents said they kind of like that taste, so I’m not sure. Maybe I’ll try again with a creamier, better kind of coconut milk (this can was really cheap). I sprinkled some shredded coconut on top, which does make it more delicious.

Cinnamon Swirl Muffins

Cinnamon Swirl Muffins, recipe by SusanV. I already wanted to make them when I first read her post, but when Mihl and Liz also posted about how much they loved these muffins, I knew I just had to try the recipe. Well, my fellow bloggers were right, these muffins are really good! I bet they would have been even better if I’d had nutmeg, but I couldn’t find that. My Dad and I both searched the entire kitchen for half an hour, but we really couldn’t find it anywhere, while we always have a little mill with a whole nutmeg in it, a tin of ground nutmeg AND a package of whole nutmegs lying around. My Mom eventually found a little plastic bag with three nutmegs in it (after I’d already taken the muffins out of the oven), but the other kinds still haven’t been found. Strange.

But anyway, the muffins are still great, even without nutmeg. I just had a little trouble getting them out of the muffin pan (I used a silicon one), so the bottoms are all damaged. I only photographed their good side, though, so you can’t see it in the picture!

Stir-Fried Peas and Tofu

To end this post, I think last night’s dinner deserves a mention: Stir-Fried Peas and Tofu, from Authentic Chinese Cuisine by Bryanna Clark Grogan (Look, I’m trying to eat with chopsticks!). This is the first thing I tried from this cookbook and not bad at all! I liked making a Chinese-style dish myself at home, but I wasn’t entirely satisfied. The tofu could have been better. I used peanut oil to fry it in, but it wouldn’t become nice and crispy and only a tiny bit brown. In the end I almost burned it, so I just went on and added the broth and other ingredients, but I would’ve liked to have fried it for a bit longer. My mom suggested we might need to buy a new wok, because this one is pretty old, but I’m not sure if that was it. Oh well, this was still a nice stir-fry.

I think I’m gonna go and enjoy the nice weather now, have a great day!

17 thoughts on “Raspberry Coconut Ice Cream and Cinnamon Swirl Muffins

  1. Raspberry-Coconut ice cream?? Oooh, how refreshing!! Sorry you didn’t like the coconut-milk flavor too much though :0(

    Okay, I am QUITE envious by how gorgeous YOUR batch of cinnamon-swirl muffins turned out – they look fabulous!!!

    Yes, go enjoy the nice weather!! :0)

  2. O, I love coconut milk in ice cream and I love raspberry’s (as you probably know…) so I really have to make that ice cream. I let you know how it turns out.

    I wanted to make the cinnamon swirl muffins today, but was out of whole wheat flour and I didn’t want to use all a-p flour. So I made Vive le Vegan’s Maple Walnut Cookies. With…a-p flour.

  3. I hope you like the ice cream! I had a bit more after dinner and the coconut flavour really isn’t bad, it’s just… I don’t know. My cousin tried it and liked it too, so I guess it’s good.

    I actually didn’t have enough a-p flour for the muffins, so I just used a little more whole wheat flour. They are yummy.
    I’ve wanted to make those maple walnut cookies for a loooong time, but haven’t done it yet because I don’t have maple extract. I’m sure they’ll be good without that, too, though…

  4. Seconding the gorgeous photos thing.

    The ice cream looks delish. I’m not much into coconut myself, I only recently learned to enjouy it (though still don’t much care for the coconut water).
    The muffins look great, too. I’m all hungry now.

  5. wow!
    I just discovered your blog for the first time and it’s so freaking cool! I just read about 10 posts at once. So many tasty looking treats. I love your adventurous ice cream making spirit! I have a funky little ice cream maker that I just love using. I think I’m gonna borrow some ideas from you!
    :)

  6. Like I said on flickr, your stir-fry looks soooo good! Even if the tofu didn’t come out as you planned, the way everything is arranged in the bowl would make me happy anyway.

    Okay, you’ve convinced me. I need to try those muffins now!

  7. Chinese stir-fry with…quinoa? The tails are peeking out. I too love attempting Chinese food at home and am always a little but dissapointed. The restaurants have spoiled us with large amounts of oil and possibly msg and I just can’t do that in my kitchen!

  8. Yes, seitan IS so delicious in soooo many ways… vegan food in general is delicious in so many ways haha. Why do people think all we eat is salad greens? It’s so sad how misinformd they are; they’re missing out on SO MUCH!

  9. Thanks so much for the awesome comments! they really make me happy.

    Erin: quinoa with a Chinese stirfry might not be traditional, but I think they tasted great together! maybe you’re right and it’s just that restaurants make their dishes far unhealthier than I’d ever dare to do myself. I’ll still experiment with Chinese dishes some more…

Leave a reply

