Cupcakes and Calzone

Today was supposed to be about doing homework. That didn’t quite work out the way I had planned, but it was still a good day – I made cupcakes!

Cupcakes

I hadn’t made them in a while, so I decided to try making a small batch again – I’ll be making more of them next Tuesday. I chose the basic chocolate cupcake recipe from Vegan Cupcakes Take over the World, halved it and made eight cupcakes. Half the recipe would usually yield six, but I guess I got more because I used smaller cupcake liners.

The cupcake at the top is frosted with Peanut Buttercream (from the same book), but, unfortunately, I didn’t like that stuff at all. I could have predicted this – I didn’t love the peanut butter cookies from VWAV, either, because they combines peanuts with a lot of sugar. This recipe has over a cup of sugar in it, as well, so the flavour is similar – I guess I only like peanuts when they’re used in something savory. Oh well, I don’t really regret trying the peanut buttercream recipe, I just know I won’t be making it again. I did frost a couple of cupcakes with it, though, so I hope I can find someone else who IS fond of this flavour to eat them…

The other two cupcakes in the picture are topped with chocolate ganache, which I do love. Very much. It’s so good! I used the suggestion provided in the book to use leftover ganache to make mini-truffels, too, and I love those even more! I used them to decorate the other cupcake and I’ll be using the recipe more often, I’m sure.

Cupcakes

My parents weren’t home for dinner, so I made something just for myself:

Calzone

Can you recognize what it is supposed to be? Well, I guess you can tell from the title of this post – I made pizza today and since I had never tried that before, I decided to make a calzone. It think it didn’t turn out that bad for a first try. I didn’t feel like making the dough from scratch and there was still some whole wheat pizza dough in the freezer from the last time my Dad made pizza, so I decided to use that. It was a little dry, but it was easy to roll out after I had added some liquid.

Calzone

The filling was based on a recipe I found here (in Dutch), but I didn’t follow it entirely. I started by melting two tablespoons of margarine in a skillet. I added a chopped onion, three (small) cloves of garlic and 150 grams of chopped mushrooms (I used different kinds). I sautéed them for a while and added about three tablespoons of rice flour. Lastly, I stirred in some rice milk, soy creamer and water. I also mixed in some sautéed zucchini, which was a great addition. I added some salt, but I should have used more. The filling was still very good and creamy, but I would add more spices next time.

On a sidenote: it seems the theme I’m currently using isn’t working properly (if you see a yellow/orange colour, that’s supposed to be white). Hmm, I guess it’ll change again soon.

Anyway, I hope all have a nice day/evening! Go wish VeggieGirl a happy birthday!

10 thoughts on “Cupcakes and Calzone

  1. 100 yums take over the world :) Bonnie…I’m seriously impressed! I thought you were going to write about going to the Sweet Avenue Bake Shop in NJ! I’ve wanted to try their vegan cupcakes for the longest time, and was so excited bc I thought maybe you’d gone! (Then realized mid-post that there’s a good chance you don’t live in the NJ area or surrounding states? haha)

    Reallly though, I’m quite impressed! Cupcakes are the coolest aren’t they?

  2. I also prefer making cupcakes over doing homework! Especially if they look as nice as yours.
    By the way, some of the VCTOTW frostings are to sweet for my taste, too. Usually I substitute some silken tofu for the sugar to make it less sweet.

  3. now THAT’S my kind of day – no homework, all cooking/baking!! ;0) between the calzone and the cupcakes, my mouth is watering!!

    aww, Bonnie you’re too kind!!! I love your comment at the end :0D

  4. Your calzone looks amazing!! First time visitor to your blog, and really impressed! Your photos and food are gorgeous! Nice to “meet”/find you!

  5. @ Tuimeltje: They do!! they make any occasion happy.
    @ Julz: Thanks! No, I’m not anywhere near NJ, I’m in the Netherlands, Europe. It does sound like I would like to try those cupcakes, too!
    @ Mihl: Thanks for the suggestion! I might try that sometime too. I like most of the frostings I’ve tried from there, though, I just don’t like too much sweetness combined with peanut butter :)

    I enjoyed making the calzone – I’d like to try it again soon with fresh pizza dough and a different filling.

  6. Hahah, I always told myself “Okay, I’m going to work today!” and end up wasting the whole day drooling over pictures of food :p
    I wish I had the baking materials to make cupcakes :( I’m several provinces away from my home so I have nothing to bake with! I guess I’ll just have to live vicariously through your baking entries XD

Leave a reply

