Muffins, Waffles and Raw Cookies

To celebrate my grandmother’s birthday, we had a nice family brunch here today. My mother and aunt did most of the cooking, but I made two things as well: muffins and waffles.

VeggieGirl's Apple-Cinnamon-Oat Muffins

I bookmarked this recipe as soon as I saw it because it sounded so good: VeggieGirl’s Apple-Cinnamon-Oat Muffins. It’s just perfect! It combines [edit: haha, I said “combinates”] lots of lovely flavours in one muffin, resulting in a delicious treat, that’s not even unhealthy. I added a small change: I didn’t have dried apple, so I used raisins instead. This recipe reminds me of the apple pie my mother always makes – it also has apple, cinnamon, oats and raisins. I think I’ll be making these muffins again and again an again, as they’re not hard to make and I’d like to have some on hand whenever I need a quick snack.

Chocolate Chip Brownie Waffles

The other thing I made was entirely different, but also a nice addition to the brunch, the waffles! These are the Chocolate Chip Brownie Waffles from Veganomicon. When I first read the recipe I thought brownie part made it a bit too, well, unhealthy, I guess, for a breakfast, but this morning I decided I just had to try it. So I did. Recipes always end up yielding more waffles than I expected, but this one really made a huge load. I probably still have half of the batch left, so I put them in the freezer for future indulgence.

Anyway, the brunch was pretty nice, I think everyone enjoyed the food and was very full afterwards.

Lately I’ve been seeing more and more pictures of raw dishes, and I’ve been reading about raw recipes on various blogs. This got me interested and made me want to try one of the recipes myself. When Paulina mentioned that Kristen sends out the recipe for her ‘Heavenly Cookies’ in her newsletter this month, I immediately subscribed and made the recipe as soon as I received it. The first time I used peanut butter (which isn’t raw, so not as the recipe was intended, but still good!), as that was the only nut butter I had. I let my mother try one of the cookies and she was really enthusiastic about it – I don’t think she expected a raw treat to be that simple but still delicious. This made me want to make the recipe again.

Kristen's Heavenly Raw Cookies

So the next day, I went and bought some raw almond butter and made the cookies again, this time a bit smaller than the recipe suggests, as my parents and I agreed that they are very filling. I’d like to try some more raw recipes soon, as I love that they’re so quick and easy to prepare without the cooking. Maybe I’ll buy a book with good raw recipes the next time I need a coobook, but I haven’t looked into that yet.

I should stop neglecting this blog the way I am… sigh.

14 thoughts on “Muffins, Waffles and Raw Cookies

  1. I’m thrilled that you liked the muffins; and your substitution of the raisins for the dried apples sounds marvelous!!

    Those waffles?? How decadent and delicious-looking!! yum!! Good thing that you put some in the freezer, so that they won’t spoil too quickly – that will make a lovely breakfast, for sure!!

    I made those raw cookies too – I used hazelnut butter (mmm, super rich). oh and you should check out the past posts I’ve done, featuring raw cakes and pies (which also link to the raw “cook”books that I use – they’re fabulous!!)

  2. I wish I could send some nice weather your way– it is actually around 75F/24C here today! It’s amazing! I had to change into shorts! I really hope it lasts; the problem with Dallas is that it could be 75 today and 35 tomorrow!

  3. Yay! I’m so glad you tried the raw Heavenly Cookies, they’re one of my favorites and I like how you don’t need any equipment to make them except a spoon and a bowl. If you want to check out more raw desserts or raw recipes in general you should go to goneraw.com. I’ve bookmarked a couple of their recipes and yesterday I tried one out for the first time. It’s called Simple a Simple Brownie and it tastes soooo good! Just type it into the search engine and it’ll pop right up. The amazing part about it is that it only has three ingredients and tastes so much better than any brownie I’ve tried – raw or baked!

  4. Hey cool, it’s a Dutch vegan blog! I always like stumbling upon those.

    It looks great. I’ve bookmarked it. Also, your food looks sooo tasty, especially the waffles.

  5. We used to have a rabbit, named Chocolate (named by me, of course!). Molly (the dog) was best friends with Chocolate, and sometimes we’d give them each a piece of carrot, and they’d sit next to each other and eat together :o). It was so sweet.

  6. All of those things that you posted today look sooo delicious! I really need to invest in a copy of Veganomicon I think, I see people posting about the recipes from that all the time and they look so good! Also, those ‘Heavenly Cookies’ look nice as well. I’ve been reading up on raw recipes too, I was reading http://freedomsrawrecipes.blogspot.com earlier, and she has some really nice looking stuff on there, I’m particularly going to try her raw spaghetti bolognese.

  7. All of those things that you posted today look sooo delicious! I really need to invest in a copy of Veganomicon I think, I see people posting about the recipes from that all the time and they look so good! Also, those ‘Heavenly Cookies’ look nice as well. I’ve been reading up on raw recipes too, I was reading http://freedomsrawrecipes.blogspot.com earlier, and she has some really nice looking stuff on there, I’m particularly going to try her raw spaghetti bolognese.

  8. Where did you get this Heavenly Cookies recipe? I can’t find it on her site and I’m pretty sure the newsletter was sent out back in January.

Leave a reply

