Mini Pizzas and Farinata

Making pizza is so much fun! This time I made eight little ones, so I could try out different toppings and eat them for lunch. I noticed the dough didn’t really rise this time, and the same thing happened the last time I baked bread – I wonder why. Maybe I’m doing something wrong with the yeast, or could it be because I used whole wheat flour? I don’t know, but these pizzas came out nicely anyway. Some of the pictures are sort of blurry. That’s because I had to go outside to get enough light, but it was raining a bit so I rushed them.

Mini pizzas

A while ago, Tippitappi posted a recipe for Farinata. When I read it I wanted to try it out right away, but it took me until yesterday to finally do it. It’s great! What I love about it is that it’s an Italian recipe that’s originally vegan, and so simple to make! My parents really liked it too.

Farinata

This one came out best – it’s the basic mixture, in this case with rocket salad, because that’s what I had on hand. Oh, and onion.

Farinata

I added tomato to this one, which made it a bit messier, but still so good. I’m definitely going to use the recipe again, and add some other vegetables next time.

 

3 thoughts on “Mini Pizzas and Farinata

  1. mmmm, pizza! Great idea to make mini ones! I can never decide which topping to use so my pizzas get a bit over-loaded!
    About the dough rising problem…that’s weird but I don’t think the flour is the problem. Did you use any sugar in your dough? My dough didn’t rise very much when I used too much raw cane sugar. What kind of yeast did you use? Dry or fresh? I sometimes by fresh and when I don’t use it immediately it won’t work that well any more after a few days…

  2. Thank you both for your comments!!
    And thanks a lot for wanting to help on the rising thing, Mihl, I think it could be the sugar I used, which was cane sugar. I used instant yeast, but that has worked for me before (I don’t even know the difference between types of yeast. I should work on this x)) so I’ll try a different kind of sugar next time. Thanks again!

Leave a reply

